How Will A DUI Impact Your Driver's License

South Carolina law allows the government to administratively suspend the driver's license of a person who is accused of refusing a DUI breath test or when chemical analysis reveals a blood alcohol concentration of .15 or higher. Typically, law enforcement will confiscate the individual's driver's license on the spot. When these circumstances exist, the driver has only 30 days to formally request a hearing in writing to challenge the license suspension. The loss of driving privileges can make getting to work, going to the grocery store or picking the kids up after school a real headache.

Learn More About Your Privilege To Drive From A Former Prosecutor

I am DUI defense lawyer George B. Bishop, Jr. I am a highly experienced trial lawyer with more than 30 years of courtroom experience. It is important to note that the administrative hearing is handled through the Department of Motor Vehicles separately from the DUI charges. As a former prosecutor and dedicated defense attorney, I am well-prepared to guide you through both the administrative hearing process and the criminal DUI case to obtain the best possible outcome.

When fighting against a license suspension, you have the opportunity to challenge the applicability of the automatic suspension, including whether the officer had probable cause to suspect you were driving under the influence and whether police followed the proper procedures to suspend your license.

You may be able to beat the suspension, obtain a temporary driver's license or a restricted license to get back on the road for specific purposes.

Contact Me To Arrange A Free Initial Consultation

If you have been charged with a DUI, it is important to speak with an experienced attorney about your rights. I offer free consultations in criminal defense cases. Call 866-850-4701, or contact me online to schedule a consultation. Based in Moncks Corner, I represent individuals throughout the South Carolina Lowcountry.