Crossing state lines can be confusing when it comes to marijuana laws. While some states allow legal marijuana sales for recreational use, others only approve cannabis for medical purposes and still, other states do not allow legal marijuana use in any form.
We understand how South Carolina’s laws regarding marijuana work and have helped many of our clients with their defense cases.
South Carolina’s marijuana laws
According to FindLaw, South Carolina is one of the states that currently does not allow anyone to use marijuana legally, even for medical purposes. It appears that there are no plans to legalize cannabis any time soon in this state, making it one of the most restrive states regarding marijuana laws. While that may change in the future as people’s attitudes towards marijuana become more relaxed, as of right now even a small amount of marijuana can earn you criminal charges and penalties.
Marijuana drug charges in South Carolina
Marijuana is a Schedule I controlled substance in South Carolina and is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Subsequent offenses result in heftier fines and longer jail times, but all possession charges remain misdemeanors. Selling marijuana, however, is a felony and is punishable by up to five years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. If you face a conviction for selling marijuana to a minor, you may spend up to 10 years in jail and pay a fine of up to $10,000. More information about this topic is available on our webpage.