If people receive a conviction for drinking and driving, officials may suspend their license.
Many penalties for DUI in South Carolina involve a license suspension. According to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety, a judge may suspend a driver’s license for six months after a first conviction. After a second conviction, people may face a year-long license suspension.
Increasing severity of charges
If people have multiple DUIs on their record, they usually face stiffer consequences. People may lose their driver’s license for two years after their third DUI. However, this suspension may last four years if people get three DUIs in a five-year period. People may lose their licenses permanently if they get four or more DUIs. Additionally, authorities may impound the vehicle after people get three DUIs within 10 years.
Reinstating a driver’s license
People can reinstate their driver’s license at the end of their suspension. According to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, people usually need to pay a reinstatement fee before they can get their license back. The amount of this fee may vary depending on the situation. If this fee is more than $300, people may be able to sign up for a payment plan.
Getting a provisional license
Sometimes people may qualify for a provisional driver’s license after their first DUI. This license is usually valid for six months. To get one of these licenses, people typically attend an alcohol safety program. Additionally, people cannot get another suspension or they may lose this provisional license. People may only be able to get a provisional license if their blood alcohol level was lower than .14 during the incident.