How much does a South Carolina DUI increase auto insurance rates?
South Carolina has laws in place that make it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content that exceeds 0.08%. If, during a traffic stop, the la enforcement officer who stops you thinks you may be under the influence of alcohol, he or she may ask you to submit to a breath test using a breath test device. If the test reveals that you are under the influence, you may face a charge of driving under the influence. If convicted, you may face a number of serious penalties, some of which may hurt you financially.
According to Insure.com, you should expect to see your insurance rates rise quite a bit following a conviction for DUI in South Carolina.
How much insurance typically increases
The average South Carolina motorist who receives a first-time DUI conviction watched his or her annual insurance premiums climb by 59%. Before a DUI, the typical South Carolina driver shells out somewhere around $1,353 for automotive insurance coverage. Yet, after a conviction for DUI, the average South Carolina motorist pays about $2,151 per year for insurance coverage, which amounts to a difference of almost $800 per year.
Why it may serve you well to shop around
Not every insurance provider uses the same formula to set rates. Some may also be more willing to work with drivers who have DUIs in their driving histories than others. Thus, it may work to your advantage to get several quotes from different providers before agreeing to a particular one.
You may also find that some auto insurers refuse to cover you at all once you have a conviction for drunk driving in your history.