Brand
Schedule a Free Consultation
Attorney
Integrity · Dedication · Experience
Representing clients throughout
the Lowcountry for over 30 years.
Attorney

Do you have to install an ignition interlock device after a DUI?

On Behalf of | Dec 7, 2022 | Dui/dwi |

When South Carolina authorities charge you with drunk driving during a traffic stop, quite a bit hangs in the balance. You may have to serve time, pay fines and perform community service, among other possible repercussions associated with a conviction for driving under the influence. Depending on the circumstances, you may also have to install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device on any cars you plan to drive.

Per the South Carolina Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services, the BAIID is a device you must have a professional install on your vehicle. Once there, you have to provide an adequate, alcohol-free breath sample in order for your car to start.

Who has to have a BAIID

A BAIID is not necessary for all first-time DUI offenders. However, if your breath test administered at the time of your arrest showed that your blood alcohol concentration exceeded .15%, you must install one. If you receive a conviction for a second DUI, you also have to install and use a BAIID for a predetermined amount of time.

What happens if you violate the terms of your BAIID

Violating the terms of your BAIID device may lead to a range of serious consequences, including an extension of your probation and additional substance abuse treatment obligations, among others. Many different actions constitute violations, including tampering with the BAIDD or having someone else blow into it for you.

Once you have a BAIID on your car, you must return to the installer every 60 days so that it may undergo recalibration and so that administrators may download necessary data.

FindLaw Network